Review of the Summer Strawberry Fair at the Stellenbosch Slow Market

So you may have read our article on the Strawberry Fair at the Stellenbosch Slow Market, well on Saturday morning, I gave up my usual routine of early morning laundry and rushing to pilates class (any excuse!) and rounded up my nearest and dearest to head to the beautiful Stellenbosch. We got there around 11am and found the Oude Libertas Estate to be absolutely buzzing!

Buzzing market

Buzzing market

The market is really big! I was immediately overwhelmed with all the things I NEEDED to try. I met with Peter in the media area who was absolutely lovely and encouraged us to explore.

lettuce

Below are SOME pics of the things I tried (believe me there is so much more!):

starwberries

Strawberry smoothies at Wendy's

Strawberry smoothies at Wendy’s

Fantastic strawberry sorbet at Moro Gelato

Fantastic strawberry sorbet at Moro Gelato. Check them out on their Facebook page

Traditional Turkish Pesto. mmm

Traditional Turkish Pesto. mmm

 

I'm not a fudge lover but this fudge made me a believer!

I’m not a fudge lover but this fudge made me a believer! Sweet Dreams Handmade Fudge

 

Macaroons from Yummi

Macaroons from Yummi

Waffles with homemade choc chip ice-cream

Waffles with homemade choc chip ice-cream

After all that eating we had lunch at Tunisian Delights which is fully Halaal. All of us opted for schwarmas and wolved it down as if we had not been eating for the past 2 hours!

Tunisian Delights (halaal)

Tunisian Delights (halaal)

Freshly squeezed juice, schwarmas, fun live music & friends

Freshly squeezed juice, schwarmas, fun live music & friends

After all that eating we checked out the craft stalls.

Hand made crafts

Hand made crafts

These were a few of my favourites:

Leather baby booties by Nado & funky jewellery by Rawjoy

Leather baby booties by Nado & funky jewellery by Raw Joy

 

I had a great time at the Slow Market trying out all things strawberry! I can’t wait for the next one. Other than the many things tried and tested (or rather tasted), here was some of the goodies that made it home with me –

Even small-cat wanted to take a peek

Even small-cat wanted a peek

For more information, visit www.slowmarket.co.za, call +27 21 886 8514, or email admin@slowmarket.co.za.

Also join the Slow Market Stellenbosch on Facebook (SlowMarket), Twitter (@TheSlowMarket), Instagram (SlowMarket) and Pinterest (SlowMarket).

Note that SnapScan is also accepted!

 

 

One thought on “Review of the Summer Strawberry Fair at the Stellenbosch Slow Market

  1. Pingback: Things to do in and around Cape Town (& surrounds) this festive season | Suitcases and Lattès

Leave a Reply

