Pearl Spoon- A Quaint Delight

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. I’m always looking for new breakfast spots to try but my problem is always managing to wake up and get myself to the restaurant before breakfast service ends. I somehow heard about a new restaurant in Belvedere that serves up a good brekkie. I say “somehow” as this restaurant has practically no internet presence other than an inconsistently maintained Facebook page, so hearing about it (until now) has mainly been via word of mouth.

So, with my breakfast buddy (my mom) in tow, we made our way to the Pearl Spoon. It was quite easy to find as it is on on Belvedere road (next to Snoekies) and there are a few parking bays on the side so it’s pretty convenient too. I was pleasantly surprised by the chic decor. I loved it. Sophisticated monochrome and chandeliers with chalk-board menu displays almost makes you forget Snoekies is right next door (kidding…not kidding). IMG_1471 IMG_1476 IMG_1483

IMG_1474

The lounge area

I was greeted by Jody who co-owns the restaurant. He gave me a brief background of the restaurant. He informed me that the Pearl Spoon was only 3 months old and they were trying to give consumers in the area a new dining experience. He informed me that the coffee beans were organic and carefully selected from international sources and that they are in the process of obtaining Halaal certification with the intention of being fully Halaal (Yay!).

The Food

I ordered a Croissant with scrambled eggs and my mom ordered an omelette. DSC_0646 DSC_0647 The food was well presented and the portion sizes were quite good. My scrambled eggs lacked a bit of seasoning but overall I enjoyed it and left more than satisfied. My mom did not complain about her omelette either. IMG_1473 IMG_1472 I will definitely be back to try their mains and yummy looking cakes next time. If you have been, let us know about your experience. -I

The Details:

Address: 44 Belvedere Road, Claremont
                Cape Town, Western Cape
Phone: 021 839 2692
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pearl-Spoon/
3 thoughts on “Pearl Spoon- A Quaint Delight

  1. Pingback: Things to do in and around Cape Town (& surrounds) this festive season | Suitcases and Lattès

Leave a Reply

