Hermanus Part 1: The Hermanus Guesthouse

I recently discovered Booking.com and I fear that it is going to affect my bank account very negatively….

It is a website that shows you available accommodation and prices of millions of hotels. This excites me as it encourages laziness by eliminating the need to make inquiries via phone or email. You just select the days you want, select a destination and choose the cheapest hotel (if you’re me) and put in your credit/ cheque card details and *voila!* your booking is confirmed. This is how I randomly discovered the Hermanus Guesthouse.

I don’t know much about Hermanus except  that people go there to watch whales in August / September. So, I knew it must have a beach and I also knew that it is fairly close to Cape Town (less than 2 hours drive) and that was pretty much what I wanted for the first few days of 2014.

As you may know, I travel a lot for work and I get put up in pretty nice places most of the time. As such, I’m not completely used to paying for my own trips and this stay at the Hermanus Guesthouse was not the cheapest way to get started. It comes as no surprise, therefore, that I initially judged the place quite harshly.

The Hermanus Guesthouse

The Hermanus Guesthouse

Since I booked quite late, I had two choices: the floral room (as that was the only room still available) or sleep outside. I opted for the former. The lady of the house said that ‘tonight you will sleep amongst the flowers’ and boy, was she not kidding. The Rose Suite was pretty floral… and Victorian. I tend to prefer more modern looking places but this sort of thing is very much guesthouse chic and I know some of their other rooms were more modernly decorated.

Sleeping beneath the flowers

Sleeping beneath the flowers

The floral mirror

The floral mirror

The room had everything I would usually expect – a bar fridge stocked with water, kettle with coffee and tea, a hairdryer, A/C, bath and flat screen TV.

The Victorian-themed bath

The Victorian-themed bath

The view from the room was not impressive, basically we an awesome view of neigbouring yards, alleys, a bit of garden and two geriatrics braaing, which albeit entertaining wasn’t really what we came to Hermanus for.

Leading to the balcony

Leading to the balcony

The excuse for a balcony

The excuse for a balcony (mind the shoes!)

The view from the balcony

The view from the balcony

The gueshouse itself had a nice view when you went out to the front balcony but unfortunately, the breakfast area faced the car park. The interior of the guesthouse was nicely decorated but in my experience I have learnt that you often you don’t use the shared facilities (lounges) unless you’re in a bigger group of people.

View from the guesthouse balcony

View from the guesthouse balcony

I was also not that impressed with the location. Their website says its a four minute walk to the Village Centre and while that is short, I wouldn’t advise it in the Summer. It was incredibly hot on the day we decided to take the four minute walk and I had very bad sunburn to show for it. It felt like four hours and I couldn’t help but sing “I went to the desert on a horse with no name…” The views from the walk were stunning though. Despite that, I still would have preferred a place closer to the Village Centre so that parking would not have been an issue.

I’ve listed many negatives about the place and yet my overall experience was positive. Where they managed to win me over was the warmth of the hostess. We asked her about some cruises in the area and she was more than willing to find out about it and make a booking – unfortunately, the boat that did the cruises moved to Cape Town!

Also, the breakfast was fabulous! I stay away from home often enough not to be excited by a bit of fruit and a fried egg. The Hermanus Guesthouse scored full marks in my book for their breakfast though. In their brochure they called it “a whale of a breakfast” and they were not lying. Firstly we were served fruit, then a lovely warm croissant followed by your choice of egg  based food (omelet, fried egg, etc). I also loved the coffee they served.

Breakfast area

Breakfast area

Chowing down

Chowing down

Another positive was that the BnB was a short stroll from Fick’s Pool which is a nice tidal pool. This made up for the fact that the guesthouse did not have its own pool with the added benefit of it being quite an amazing spot. The first couple of times we went, the ocean that fed it was raging and bubbling. The second time, it was still and peaceful.

Fick's Pool

Fick’s Pool

I think the Hermanus Guesthouse in a good base from which to explore Hermanus, if you don’t mind the fact that you may have to drive. I had a mostly good experience staying in the guesthouse but I think in future, I would rather try to find a place that is closer to the Village Centre and that has a pool. If I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted, I would not have a problem with staying at the Hermanus Guesthouse again. I think it is probably a good place to stay during the whale watching season (July to November).

Some of what we got up to in Hermanus can be found in Hermanus Part 2.

–  Rif (with a little help from Kamiel Sadien, blogger at http://juniorcoffeewriter.wordpress.com/)

Need to know

Hermanus Boutique Guest House / Gastehuis
 
Address: 9 Marine Drive, Hermanus
Tel: +27 (0)28 313 1433
Website: http://www.hermanusguesthouse.co.za
Email: reservations@hermanusguesthouse.co.za
 
Rose Suite Rates: from R550 per night per person sharing (Aug 2013 – Apr 2014)
2 thoughts on “Hermanus Part 1: The Hermanus Guesthouse

  1. Pingback: Hermanus Part 2: A whale of a time! | Suitcases and Lattès

Leave a Reply

